MEDIA RELEASE

November 22, 2024

STUDENTS COME FIRST.

Good Spirit School Division Elects Board Chair and Vice-Chair

The Board of Education of the Good Spirit School Division held their Organizational Meeting during the Regular Board Meeting on Thursday, November 21, 2024. At the meeting, the Board elected the chair and vice-chair as well as various subcommittee members for the upcoming year. Details have been posted on the website indicating all committee member representation.

Good Spirit SCHOOL

DIVISION

Mrs. Jaime Johnson was elected as chairperson with Mrs. Nicole Pohl being elected to the position of vice-chairperson. Jaime and Nicole are joined by four returning board members and five new board members.

The Board of Education is comprised of:

- Jaime Johnson (Subdivision #1 Kamsack/Norquay and area);
- Christopher Balyski (Subdivision #2 Preeceville/Sturgis and area); ٠
- Shannon Leson (Subdivision #3 Canora/Invermay and area); ٠
- Nicole Pohl (Subdivision #4 – Springside/Yorkdale Rural and area);
- Kelly Palmer (Subdivision #5 - Churchbridge/Langenburg/Saltcoats and area)
- Kendra Stav (Subdivision #6 Grayson/Melville and area);
- Jamie Smart-Sondergaard (Subdivision #7 - Esterhazy/Stockholm and area);
- Jay-Cee Brass (Subdivision #8 - Key First Nation Reserve No. 65); and,
- Cara Makort, Jan Morrison, and Steve Variyan (Yorkton-At-Large).

Regular Board Meetings will be held at the Good Spirit Education Complex in the RM of Orkney or via video conference at 10 a.m. as per the following schedule:

- December 12, 2024
- January 23, 2025
- February 27, 2025
- March 27, 2024
- April 24, 2024
- May 22, 2025 (Special Meeting)
- June 12, 2025
- August 13, 2025 (Special Meeting)
- August 14, 2025



Back Row (L to R): Shannon Leson, Steve Variyan, Jamie Smart-Sondergaard, Kelly Palmer, Jay-Cee Brass, Jan Morrison Front Row (L to R): Christopher Balyski, Nicole Pohl, Kendra Stav, Cara Makort, Jaime Johnson

EFFECTIVE POLICY



GSSD School Board Trustee School Representation

Subdivision	Trustee	Schools
Subdivision 1	Jaime Johnson	 Bear Stream School Kamsack Comprehensive School Norquay School Victoria School
Subdivision 2	Christopher Balyski	 Hofer School Preeceville School Sturgis Composite School
Subdivision 3	Shannon Leson	 Canora Composite School Canora Junior Elementary School Invermay School
Subdivision 4	Nicole Pohl	Springside SchoolYorkdale Central School
Subdivision 5	Kelly Palmer	 Churchbridge Public School Langenburg Central School Saltcoats School
Subdivision 6	Kendra Stav	 Davison School Grayson School Melville Comprehensive School Miller School Silver Stream School
Subdivision 7	Jamie Smart-Sondergaard	 Esterhazy High School Macdonald School P.J. Gillen School
Subdivision 8	Jay-Cee Brass	Key First Nation Reserve No. 65Norquay School
Yorkton-at-Large	Cara Makort	• Dr. Brass
Yorkton-at-Large	Jan Morrison	• M.C. Knoll, Yorkton Regional High School
Yorkton-at-Large	Steven Variyan	• Columbia School



The Organizational Meeting took place during the Regular Board Meeting on November 21, 2024. During this meeting, Board Members nominated and elected the Board Chair, Vice Chair, and committee memberships. Below is a list of the Board Members and GSSD staff on each committee. This information is also available on our website.

Some committee memberships are determined by acclamation or vote, while others have designated individuals. For more details, please refer to the Appendices of Board Policy 8 on our website.

BOARD CHAIR

• Jaime Johnson

VICE CHAIR

• Nicole Pohl

EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

- Board Chair Jaime Johnson
- Vice Chair Nicole Pohl
- Steve Variyan

FINANCE COMMITTEE

- Board Chair Jaime Johnson
- Jamie Smart-Sondergaard
- Shannon Leson

INDIGENOUS ADVISORY COMMITTEE

- Board Chair Jaime Johnson
- Subdivision 8 Trustee Jay-Cee Brass
- Director of Education Quintin Robertson
- Superintendent of Indigenous Education - Angella Pinay

LINC NEGOTIATIONS COMMITTEE

- Kelly Palmer
- Cara Makort

SUPPORT STAFF NEGOTIATIONS COMMITTEE

- Nicole Pohl
- Kendra Stav

TRANSPORTATION COMMITTEE

- Nicole Pohl
- Christopher Balyski
- Jamie Smart-Sondergaard

WORKPLACE WELLNESS STEERING COMMITTEE

• Jay-Cee Brass

MELVILLE COMPREHENSIVE SCHOOL GOVERNANCE AUTHORITY

• Kendra Stav

PUBLIC SECTION

- Jan Morrison
- Alternate Jaime Johnson

EAST CENTRAL DISTRICT ATHLETIC ASSOCIATION REPRESENTATIVE APPOINTMENT

- Shannon Leson
- Alternate Steve Variyan

SEASTARS AWARDS COMMITTEE

• Kendra Stav

CITY OF YORKTON'S PLANNING AND INFRASTRUCTURE COMMISSION

• Jan Morrison

